Books of the Year 2018

See below for our choice of Books of the Year 2018.

There is something for everyone here, from family and friends to Godchildren and Grandparents. We will have stock of all these titles in-store, but if you would like to reserve a particular title, just email us on info@mainstreetbooks.co.uk.

—————————————-

PICTURE BOOKS / NOVELTY / ILLUSTRATED

The Day the War Came by Nicola Davies, illus. Rebecca Cobb (£10)
Every child deserves a seat in class – simple, beautiful, universal. (£1 from every book goes to the charity Help Refugees)

Dragon Post by Emma Yarlett (£10.99)
Delightful tale of a little boy and his dragon ‘under the stairs’ – full of wise and funny advice sent by post.  If you love your dragon, let it go…

The Rescue of Bunny Wunny by Emma Chichester Clark (£12.99)
Deliciously witty tale of a rather spoilt little girl and her long-suffering Bunny.

Into the Jungle by Katherine Rundell, illus. Nicole Arumugam (£16.99)
A modern classic in the making inspired by the characters from The Jungle Book.

How Winston Delivered Christmas by Alex T Smith (£14.99)
An intrepid mouse heads off on an advent adventure – set to become a family Christmas favourite.

Book of Trees by Piotr Socha and Wojciech Grajkowski (£18.95)
A beautifully illustrated homage to trees and their vital importance to us all.

A History of Pictures for Children by David Hockney (£14.95)
Engaging and very accessible art book for children (and adults).

—————————————-

CHILDREN’S FICTION 8-12 yrs

Mainstreet Year of Books 2018-Children's Fiction

Letters from the Lighthouse by Emma Carroll (£6.99)
Hugely readable WWII fiction with a very contemporary resonance.

The Skylark’s War by Hilary McKay (£12.99)
Coming of age on the home front – for fans of Dodie Smith and E Nesbit – just gorgeous.

Fire, Bed and Bone by Henrietta Branford (£5.99)
An old favourite, beautifully repackaged – life in fourteenth century England told from the point of view of a devoted hunting dog.

—————————————-

TEEN

Mainstreet-Books of the Year-2019-TEEN

The Survival Game by Nicola Singer (£8.99)
Sea-levels in Britain have risen, Scotland has become a sanctuary. The plight of refugees made all too real for YA readers.

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan (£7.99)
Told in blank verse, this heart-wrenching tale of two brothers maintains Sarah Crossan’s hight standard of writing.

Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean (£6.99)
Based on a true story set in 1727, off the island of St Kilda – extraordinarily vivid, dynamic storytelling – rec. adults to read before you give!

—————————————-

GENERAL NON-FICTION

Mainstreet-Books of the Year-2018-General Non-FictionThe Art of Coorie by Gabriella Bennett (£14.99)
Pour yourself a dram, light the fire and enjoy Hygge the Scots way.

Wilding by Isabella Tree (£20)
Fascinating and timely story of a farm that went back to the wild, and made a roaring success of it.

Scotland: Her Story by Rosemary Goring (£20)
From Mary Queen of Scots and Lady Grizel Bailey to Muriel Spark and Jackie Kay, Rosemary Goring examines Scotland’s history through the eyes of some amazing women.

The Writer’s Map: An Atlas of Imaginary Lands by Huw Lewis-Jones (£29.95)
Explore the worlds created by your favourite from Robert Louis Stevenson to Philip Pullmam and JK Rowling – treasure to pour
over on Christmas Day.

Rooms of their Own by Nico Strachey (£14.99)
Discover the homes of three of the Bloomsbury Group – their personal spaces bringing alive their writing lives.

—————————————-

FICTION

Mainstreet-Books of the Year-2018-Fiction

Normal People by Sally Rooney (£14.99)
Brilliant new literary talent – coming of age with bite, hugely readable, acute and touching.

Transcription by Kate Atkinson (£20)
Gripping, elegant WWII spy thriller set in London.

Take Nothing with You by Patrick Gale (£18.99)
Beautiful coming of age novel, told with the drama & lyricism of the cello itself.

Sal by Mick Kitson (£12.99)
Startling, original debut fiction shot through with humour.

Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss (£12.99)
A short, taught novel. Deserves to be read in one sitting.

—————————————-

BIOGRAPHY

Mainstreet Books of the Year-2018-Biography

Educated by Tara Westover (£8.99)
A heartbreaking, fierce, intelligent, hugely readable memoir that will live with you for years to come.

The Spy and the Traitor by Ben MacIntyre (£25)
Utterly gripping, true story of KGB agent who spied for the UK through the Cold War.

My Name is Doddie by Doddie Weir (£20)
A powerful memoir from the rugby legend and local hero.

A Honeybee Heart has Five Openings by Helen Jukes (£14.99)
‘A beautiful, lyrical story of the therapy that lies in getting your own beehive. My best read of the summer.’  Bill

—————————————-

FOOD

Time by Gill Meller (£25)
Beautifully produced celebration of time spent the kitchen, with gorgeous recipes and lush photography.

Simple by Yotam Ottolenghi (£25)
Ottolenghi with minimum hassle, maximum flavour, what’s not to love?

Mob Kitchen by Ben Lebus (£14.99)
For the young person in your kitchen – makes cooking fun, easy, tasty and, within budget!

Modern Baking by Donna Hay (£30)
Delicious, straightforward baking from Australia’s Mary Berry, Try the cheat’s hazelnut chocolate fudge on p60, we did!

—————————————-

POETRY

A Gathering edited by Alexander McCall Smith (£14.99)Scottish poetry both past and present in a volume to cherish,
beautifully edited by the much-loved Alexander McCall Smith

Selected Poems by Kathleen Jamie (£14.99)
Discover the full range of one of Scotland’s best loved poets in this exquisite volume.

I Am the Seed edited by Fiona Waters (£25)
Beautiful child friendly poetry book beloved of teachers and parents alike.

Old Toffers book of Consequential Dogs by Christopher Reid (£14.99)
Delicious companion volume to TS Elliot’s Practical Cats with gorgeous 50’s style illustrations, it’s on my wish list!

 

Click on the link below to read all about our Books of the Year.

Books of the Year 2018

And more stories

Thu 6th Dec 2018
Back to top
Close Map