Year of Books 2017

See below for our choice of Books of the Year, there is something for everyone here, from family and friends to Godchildren and Grandparents.

We will have stock of all these titles in-store, but if you would like to reserve a particular title, just email us on info@mainstreetbooks.co.uk.

PICTURE BOOKS, ILLUSTRATED/NOVELTY

Year-of-Books-2017--Picture-Books-1200px

Paddington Pop-up by Michael Bond (£25)
This beautiful new edition actually features in the smash hit new film.

The Wolf, the Duck and the Mouse by Mac Barnett, illus Jon Klassen (£12.99)
Hilarious take on the benefits of being eaten by a wolf.

Mopoke by Philip Bunting (£6.99)
A worthy rival to Jon Klassen, very funny.

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by JK Rowling, illus. Olivia Lomenech-Gill (£25)
Stunningly beautiful illustrated edition of the popular companion book to Harry Potter

CHILDREN’S NON-FICTION

Year-of-Books-2017--Children's-Non-fiction-1200px

The Big Book of Bugs by Yuval Zommer (£12.95)
Our bestselling children’s book this year, and it’s easy to see why.

Scary Bingo (£14.99)
What’s not to love, if you are aged 3yrs plus?

The Variety of Life by Nicola Davies, illus. Lorna Scobie (£14.99)
The natural world in all its glory.

CHILDREN’S FICTION 8-12yrs

Year-of-Books-2017--Children's-8-12-1200px

Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend (£12.99)
A cracking new talent in children’s fiction, for fans of JK Rowling and Philip Pullman.

The Poet’s Dog by Patricia MacLachlan (£10.99)
Teddy the dog befriends two children lost in the woods, a touching tale of loss and love rediscovered.

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust, Vol. 1 by Philip Pullman (£20)
It’s worth the 17 year wait. Given the choice, we’d recommend the audio CD (£20), kept the whole family happy in the car for 7hrs straight.

Beetle Queen by M G Leonard (£6.99)
If anything, better than our favourite from last year, Beetle Boy. Can be read as a standalone.

TEEN

Year-of-Books-2017--teen-1200px

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge (£12.99)
Fizzes with energy and atmosphere, packed with historical detail, as gripping as the best thriller.

Thornhill by Pam Smy (£14.99)
Wow, just wow, edge of your seat stuff, make sure you’re not in the house alone when reading…

Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick (£7.99)
Set in the slums of the Mexican border, this reads almost like a computer game thriller with a serious message.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (£7.99)
To Kill a Mockingbird for the 21st Century, a must read.

GENERAL NON-FICTION

Year-of-Books-2017--General-non-fiction-1200px Year-of-Books-2017--General-non-fiction-2-1200px

The Bothy Bible by Geoff Allan (£16.99)
Our bestselling book this year, highly recommended, even for those with no plans to visit a bothy.

Lost Words by Robert MacFarlane, illus. Jackie Morris (£20)
The most beautiful book of the year.

Six Minutes in May by Nicholas Shakespeare (£20)
The devil is in the detail of history, written by a master of narrative non-fiction.

Hidden Ways: Scotland’s Forgotten Roads by Alastair Moffat (£20)
Join the author on a journey of discovery, a new way of experiencing our past through lost roads.

The Nature of Winter by Jim Crumley (£12.99)
Just check out our Christmas window painted by Di to see how beautiful this book really is.

Husband Hunters by Anne de Courcy (£20)
American heiresses hit London’s marriage market in the late nineteenth century…

Terms & Conditions by Ysenda Maxtone Graham (£9.99)
For those who missed the hardback – touching and hilarious stories of life as a boarding school girl in the twentieth century.

BIOGRAPHY

Year-of-Books-2017--Biography-2-1200px

Year-of-Books-2017--Biography-1-1200px

I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O’Farrell (£18.99)
Searing memoir of the author’s seventeen brushes with death, lit up by her trademark stylish writing.

This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay (£16.99)
By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, the diary of an NHS doctor turned comedian – unmissable.

Ma’am Darling by Craig Brown (£16.99)
Deliciously gossipy account of the rebel princess who still wanted her husband to call her Ma’am.

Over and Out by Henry Blofeld (£20)
Legend of the world of cricket, a Christmas no-brainer for the cricket fan in your life.

Diary of a Bookseller by Shaun Bythell (£14.99)
The author apparently models himself on Dylan Moran of Black Books fame. You can tell (in a good way).

The Vanity Fair Diaries: 1983-1992 by Tina Brown (£25)
If you want to know how it felt to live in New York high society in the ’80s and ’90s, look no further.

Gold: My Autobiography by Nick Skelton (£20)
A legend of the horse world, winner of Olympic gold aged 58yrs, respect.

Appointment in Arezzo: A Friendship with Muriel Spark by Alan Taylor (£12.99)
On the cusp of her anniversary year (Spark was born in 1918), dip into this affectionate portrait of one of Scotland’s greatest writers – don’t miss the beautiful new editions of her classic novels too.

Food

Year-of-Books-2017--Fiction-2-1200px

Sweet by Yotam Ottolenghi & Helen Gho (£27)
Our in-house baker tips this as new and original, with masses she’s keen to bake.

Soulful Baker by Julie Jones (£20)
Beautiful and delicious in equal part.

Turmeric Book by Aster (£10)
One of our bestselling cookbooks of the year – read and cook from this book if you want to get healthy the tasty way.

Cheese by Michel Roux (£20)
If you missed the amazing Michel Roux snr at Mainstreet, you can catch a touch of his charm and knowledge with this gorgeous homage to cheese (lots of great recipes too).

FICTION

Year-of-Books-2017--Fiction-2-1200px

Mainstreet-Year-of-Books-2017--Fiction

Tin Man by Sarah Winman (£12.99)
A perfect little book encompassing all human emotion in 195 tautly written pages.

The Course of Love by Alain de Botton (£8.99)
Jane Austen novels tend to end with a wedding, while de Botton sees this as the starting point for his story of modern marriage.

Smile by Roddy Doyle (£14.99)
For those who loved Roddy Doyle back in the day, this is the novel to remind you why he’s such a great writer.

My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent (£12.99)
For fans of A Little Life, this is not for the fainthearted, but it had me transfixed for the beauty and the horror.

Home Fires by Kamila Shamsie (£16.99)
A heart-stopping literary thriller told from multiple viewpoints, you can’t but live the drama of devastation wreaked on two families where politics and love collide.  A timely, urgent and haunting novel.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (£14.99)
Stunning new hardback edition, book I most want to be given (but only in this edition!).

Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout (£12.99)
Connected short stories by the master of understatement.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman (£12.99)
Read at the beginning of the year, but Eleanor Oliphant lives with me still.  Meet an unusual narrator who, in accidentally making a friend, might just start living.

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett (£8.99)
Finally read this bestselling US author, I urge you to do the same (oh, and she’s even got her own bookshop).

POETRY

Mainstreet Year-of-Books-choice of Poetry Books for 2017

Plum by Hollie McNish (£9.99)
Accessible, contemporary poetry; strong, positive female voice.

Bantam by Jackie Kay (£14.99 hbk, £9.99 pbk)
Jackie Kay, what more can we say.

Poetry Pharmacy by William Sieghart (£12.99)
For the lapsed poetry reader, dip back into the world of verse and enjoy.

And more stories

Thu 7th Dec 2017
2pm£
Back to top
Close Map